Winter parking bans in Canadian cities are mostly declared storm by storm, except in Halifax, where an overnight ban runs Dec. 15 to March 31, and Quebec City, where winter rules run Nov. 1 to April 15. Fines range from up to $120 in Calgary to up to $500 in Toronto.
Updated Oct. 26, 2026
File photo: a snow-covered street with parked cars. Photo: Etienne Delorieux / Unsplash.
Most cities do not set a single calendar date for a parking ban. They declare one after a heavy snowfall so crews can plow curb to curb, and a car left on a signed street can be ticketed or towed. The details below come from each city’s own pages, and where a city has not published a figure, this guide says so. Provinces set the Highway Traffic Act and Motor Vehicle Act rules, but the bans themselves are municipal.
Key facts
| City | When it applies | Hours | Fine or penalty published by the city |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto | When a major snow storm condition is declared | Until the declaration ends | Up to $500, plus towing |
| Montreal | During snow removal operations | 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. or 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. | Not stated on the city page |
| Quebec City | Nov. 1 to April 15, during snow removal | Not stated | Not stated on the city page |
| Ottawa | When a winter weather parking ban is declared | Set per ban | Not confirmed for this guide |
| Winnipeg | Winter route bans from Nov. 1 to the end of April | 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. on winter routes | $200 for a residential ban ($150 if paid early) |
| Calgary | When a snow route ban is declared | Up to 72 hours | Up to $120, plus towing |
| Edmonton | When a Phase 2 ban is declared | At least 8 hours’ notice | Not stated on the city page |
| Regina | When snowfall reaches at least 5 cm | 24 hours | $120 |
| Saskatoon | When No Parking signs are posted | Overnight removal, 24 hours’ notice | Towed to an adjacent street |
| Halifax | Dec. 15 to March 31, on enforcement days | 1 a.m. to 6 a.m. | Ticket, tow or both |
When do winter parking bans start in Canada?
Only a few cities tie a ban to a fixed season. Halifax’s overnight ban runs every year from Dec. 15 to March 31, but the city said on its parking ban page that it enforces the rule only during declared weather events and clearing operations. Quebec City’s snow removal page says its rules take effect Nov. 1 and apply until April 15, with parking prohibited during snow removal operations.
Winnipeg’s winter route ban can take effect any time from Nov. 1 to the end of April, according to the city’s winter parking bans page. Elsewhere there is no start date. Toronto, Calgary, Edmonton, Regina and Ottawa declare bans when the weather requires them, so the first one usually follows the first heavy snowfall.
How do I know if a parking ban is in effect?
Cities announce bans through their websites, social media, 311 and, in several cases, text or email alerts, and they rely on signs on the street. Calgary said it usually gives one to two days’ notice and posts a banner on Calgary.ca, according to its snow route parking ban page. Regina declares a snow route by 3 p.m. the day before the ban takes effect, and a driver who gets no notice by then can return to the route the next morning, the city said on its snow routes page.
Edmonton said it gives at least eight hours’ notice, and its parking ban page shows the clearing status of each roadway on a map. Saskatoon aims to post No Parking signs at least 24 hours ahead, according to its snow removal page. Montreal posts signs the evening before for the daytime period, before 8 p.m., and the same day for the night period, before 3 p.m., the city said on its winter parking page.
What are the winter parking rules in Toronto?
Toronto bans parking on designated snow routes only when its general manager of transportation services declares a major snow storm condition. The routes are mainly in the downtown core and include all streetcar routes, the city said on its major snow event page. The fine is up to $500, and the city can tow a vehicle that hinders plows or emergency crews even if it is legally parked.
Orange no-parking signs mean parking is prohibited until snow removal is finished and the signs come down. A car towed from a major road can be located by calling Toronto Police Service at 416-808-2222.
What are the winter parking rules in Ottawa?
Ottawa declares winter weather parking bans case by case. Past city advisories set an overnight ban from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. and a daytime ban from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., so the hours change with the storm. The city’s fine schedule could not be confirmed for this guide, so check the City of Ottawa parking page before relying on a figure.
What are the winter parking rules in Montreal and Quebec City?
Montreal splits each snow removal operation into a day period from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and a night period from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. The city offers free night parking in certain spots during operations and advises parking about 30 cm from the curb with mirrors folded in. In LaSalle and Verdun, drivers call the number on the signs to find out whether they have to move.
Quebec City applies its rule from Nov. 1 to April 15 and does not state hours or fines on its page. Drivers there should follow the posted signs during each operation.
What are the winter parking rules on the Prairies?
Winnipeg runs three layers of bans. A winter route ban bars parking on signed routes from 2 a.m. to 7 a.m. and is announced seven days ahead, an extended version starts at midnight, and a residential ban runs in 12-hour shifts. The city said a residential ban brings a $200 ticket, or $150 if paid early, so paying early saves $50.
Calgary’s snow route bans usually begin 18 hours after snowfall ends and last up to 72 hours or until the city lifts them. Tickets are up to $120, and on-street accessible parking zones are exempt. Regina’s ban lasts 24 hours once snowfall reaches at least 5 cm, and the ticket is $120.
Saskatoon removes snow from priority streets overnight and tows a vehicle still on the street to an adjacent street, the city said. Owners can find it with the Find a Towed Vehicle app or by calling 306-975-2476. Edmonton did not list fines or season dates on its ban page.
What are the winter parking rules in Halifax?
When Halifax enforces its overnight ban, it applies from 1 a.m. to 6 a.m. across the Regional Centre. Zone 1 covers the Halifax peninsula and downtown Dartmouth within Highway 111, and Zone 2 covers the rest, and the ban can be lifted in one zone while still enforced in the other. The city does not list fine amounts, but it said vehicles can be ticketed, towed at the owner’s expense, or both.
Halifax published its 2025-26 enforcement record. Across 13 enforcement dates from Jan. 19 to March 23, 2026, it issued 8,702 tickets and made 468 tows, about 670 tickets per enforcement date by our calculation. December 2025 had no enforcement.
What happens if my car is towed during a parking ban?
Toronto, Calgary and Halifax all say a vehicle can be towed as well as ticketed. A driver ticketed on a Calgary snow route pays up to $120 and may also pay towing and storage, so a single missed notice can cost far more than the ticket. Cities usually move vehicles to an adjacent street, as Toronto and Saskatoon describe, but they can also impound them.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a winter parking ban in effect right now?
Check your city’s website, 311 or alert service. Most Canadian cities declare bans only after snowfall, so there is no standing date outside Halifax and Quebec City.
How much is a winter parking ticket in Canada?
It depends on the city. Published figures include up to $500 in Toronto, $200 in Winnipeg for a residential ban, $120 in Regina and up to $120 in Calgary.
Can I park on the street overnight in winter?
Usually yes, unless a ban is declared or a seasonal rule applies, such as Halifax’s 1 a.m. to 6 a.m. rule on enforcement days. Always check the signs.
How much notice do cities give?
It varies: at least eight hours in Edmonton, 24 hours in Saskatoon, by 3 p.m. the day before in Regina and one to two days in Calgary.
For tire rules, see our winter driving rules by province, our winter storm prep checklist and our 2026-27 winter forecast.
If you find reporting like this useful, consider supporting Canada News Media, an independent Canadian newsroom with no corporate parent.
Sources: City of Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Calgary, Edmonton, Regina, Saskatoon and Halifax winter parking and snow removal pages, linked above. The tickets-per-date figure is a Canada News Media calculation from Halifax data.
Follow Canada News Media
Get the day's top Canadian stories and our two daily 60-second news videos wherever you scroll.
X Threads Facebook Instagram LinkedIn TikTok YouTube Pinterest Reddit Substack Flipboard Newsletter RSS













