Toronto Public Health said Oct. 5 it has confirmed 14 mpox cases since September and urged eligible residents to start or finish the two-dose vaccine series.
“Mpox continues to circulate in Toronto, and we are currently seeing a rise in infections,” Dr. Michelle Murti, the city’s medical officer of health, said. “Vaccination is the best way eligible residents can protect themselves.”
CP24 reported the city has had 41 confirmed cases so far in 2026, compared with 118 in the same period of 2025. Toronto recorded 158 cases in all of 2025. The city’s health unit has said the risk to the general public remains low. The situation is developing, and Toronto’s public mpox page listed 15 cases since September as of Oct. 6.
Mpox spreads through close, prolonged contact, including sexual contact. Symptoms include a rash, fever, swollen lymph nodes, headache, muscle aches and fatigue. Toronto Public Health says there is no specific treatment to prevent infection once exposed, which is why it is stressing vaccination for people in higher-risk groups.
The vaccine, sold as Imvamune, is given as two doses at least 28 days apart. Eligibility rules, cost and booking methods are set by each province, and the wording below comes from each government or health authority page. Pages for several provinces and territories did not state all details, so check your local public health office before booking.
Ontario
Toronto Public Health says the vaccine is free and available to eligible people, with no Ontario health card required. Eligible groups include gay and bisexual men who have more than one partner, a partner with other partners, a confirmed sexually transmitted infection in the past year, or who attend sex venues. Sexual partners of those people, sex workers, staff or volunteers at sex-on-premises venues and people who engage in sex tourism also qualify.
Appointments are available at Toronto Public Health Sexual Health clinics, by booking only, or through a 2SLGBTQ+ sexual health care provider. People who have had two doses do not need more, and booster doses are not currently recommended. More information is at toronto.ca/mpox.
Alberta
Albertans 18 and older at high risk of exposure are eligible for the two-dose series at no cost, according to the province. Groups include men who have sex with men who have more than one sexual partner, people with a confirmed sexually transmitted infection in the past year, sex workers, people who have had sexual contact in sex-on-premises venues, and staff or volunteers at those venues.
The province says people should call Health Link at 1-866-301-2668 to review eligibility and book.
British Columbia
Vancouver Coastal Health lists gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men who also have multiple partners, a partner with multiple partners, casual sex or are sex workers. Sexual partners of those people, sex workers, venue staff and volunteers, and people who engage in sex tourism are also eligible. Health care professionals travelling to support a clade I outbreak can be vaccinated as well.
People who received the smallpox vaccine in childhood may now be offered two doses instead of one. Drop-in and online options include Health Initiative for Men clinics on Davie Street and Commercial Drive in Vancouver, some pharmacies and Vancouver Coastal Health community clinics. The health authority’s page does not state a price, so confirm with the clinic.
Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia lists men who have sex with men who have multiple partners, a partner with other partners, a bacterial sexually transmitted infection in the past year or sexual contact at sex-on-site venues. Sex workers, people who engage in sex tourism, venue staff and volunteers, and sexual contacts of eligible people also qualify.
People can contact a primary care provider, book a community pharmacy primary care clinic online or check with local public health. The province says to expect a delay between booking and vaccination because of vaccine storage requirements. Clinic information is at nshealth.ca/public-health-immunization-clinics. The page does not state a cost.
New Brunswick
New Brunswick says cisgender, transgender and two-spirit people of any age who identify as gay, bisexual or men who have sex with men, and who are or plan to be sexually active with more than one partner, are eligible. Self-identified sex workers and staff or volunteers at sex-on-premises venues also qualify.
Appointments can be booked online or by calling 1-833-437-1424. People can book under the name “Imvamune Vaccine” if they prefer not to give their own. Bring a Medicare card and a completed consent form. The page does not state a cost.
Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan says the vaccine is available to people considered high risk but its public page refers to a separate information sheet, updated in July 2025, for the criteria. It recommends calling HealthLine 811 for assessment and referral if you have symptoms or concerns.
Other provinces and territories
Quebec, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador and the territories were not confirmed in this review because their official pages could not be read or did not give current vaccine details. Contact your provincial or territorial health line or local public health unit for current eligibility.
This article is based on official guidance from Toronto Public Health, Alberta Health, Vancouver Coastal Health, the Nova Scotia government, the New Brunswick government and the Saskatchewan government and is provided for general public information. It’s not a substitute for medical advice, if you have questions about how this applies to you, talk to your doctor or pharmacist.
If you find reporting like this useful, consider supporting Canada News Media, an independent Canadian newsroom with no corporate parent.
Sources: Toronto Public Health news release; Toronto Public Health mpox page; CP24; Alberta; Vancouver Coastal Health; Nova Scotia; New Brunswick; Saskatchewan.
Follow Canada News Media
Get the day's top Canadian stories and our two daily 60-second news videos wherever you scroll.












